Aug 182012

In their second season at the new MetLife Stadium, the New York Giants won the Super Bowl. It’s not the quickest a team has gone from a new stadium to a championship, but it’s pretty close.

There have been 19 stadiums that have seen the team that moved into them when they were newly built, win a league championship. On average those stadiums see their first championship within nine years of being built.

Check out the list below for more.

Quickest a Team Has Gone From a New Stadium to a Championship

WithinTeamStadiumFirst SeasonChampionship Season
1 seasonDallas CowboysTexas Stadium19711971
2 seasonsNew York GiantsMetLife Stadium20102011
2 seasonsNew England PatriotsGillette Stadium20022003
2 seasonsOakland RaidersOakland Coliseum19661967 ¹
3 seasonsBaltimore RavensM&T Bank Stadium19982000
4 seasonsProvidence Steam RollerCycledrome19251928
5 seasonsPittsburgh SteelersHeinz Field20012005
5 seasonsTampa Bay BuccaneersRaymond James Stadium19982002
5 seasonsSt. Louis RamsEdward Jones Dome19951999
5 seasonsPittsburgh SteelersThree Rivers Stadium19701974
5 seasonsNew York JetsShea Stadium19641968
5 seasonsGreen Bay PackersLambeau Field19571961
5 seasonsGreen Bay PackersCity Stadium19251929
9 seasonsMinnesota VikingsMetropolitan Stadium19611969 ¹
11 seasonsNew York GiantsGiants Stadium19761986
22 seasonsWashington RedskinsRFK Stadium19611982
23 seasonsIndianapolis ColtsRCA Dome19842006
31 seasonsNew England PatriotsFoxboro Stadium19712001
35 seasonsNew Orleans SaintsSuperdome19752009

¹ Won their league’s championship, but lost the Super Bowl.

Since the San Diego Chargers moved into the brand new San Diego Stadium (now known as Qualcomm) in 1967, they have never won a league championship.

Qualcomm Stadium is one of 15 stadiums that have gone 20 years or more, without ever seeing a league championship from the team that moved into them when they were newly built.

Championship Droughts at Newly Built Stadiums

Seasons w/o Champ.StadiumTeamBuiltTo
45 seasonsQualcomm StadiumSan Diego Chargers1967-
40 seasonsArrowhead StadiumKansas City Chiefs1972-
39 seasonsRalph Wilson StadiumBuffalo Bills1973-
32 seasonsVeterans StadiumPhiladelphia Eagles19712002
30 seasonsRiverfront StadiumCincinnati Bengals19701999
30 seasonsMetrodomeMinnesota Vikings1982-
27 seasonsSilverdomeDetroit Lions19752001
26 seasonsAtlanta-Fulton CountyAtlanta Falcons19661991
25 seasonsSun Life StadiumMiami Dolphins1987-
24 seasonsKingdomeSeattle Seahawks19761999
24 seasonsRCA DomeIndianapolis Colts19842007
22 seasonsBusch Memorial StadiumSt. Louis Cardinals19661987
22 seasonsTampa StadiumTampa Bay Buccaneers19761997
21 seasonsMetropolitan StadiumMinnesota Vikings19611981
20 seasonsGeorgia DomeAtlanta Falcons1992-


Additional Info

  • In 1971, Texas Stadium wasn’t completed before the regular season started, so in actuality the Dallas Cowboys won a championship at the newly built Texas Stadium in a little over two-thirds of a season.
  • The Miami Dolphins haven’t won a Super Bowl in the 25 years they have been at Sun Life Stadium, but the stadium has hosted five Super Bowls.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.