May 142012

From 1954-1983, Baltimore Memorial Stadium was the home to both the NFL’s Baltimore Colts and MLB’s Baltimore Orioles. Within those 30 years, both the Colts and Orioles won three “world” titles. Most people don’t mourn the loss of dual-purpose stadiums in sports, but when the stadiums hosted successful teams in both football and baseball, it created a special atmosphere of success around the building.

Championships at Dual-Purpose Stadiums

Note: The list only includes championships that were won when the stadium was a dual-purpose stadium. For example, none of the New York Yankees titles at Yankee Stadium were counted after the New York Giants moved out.

For a complete listing of the NFL and MLB teams that shared a stadium click here.

Stadium names have changed often throughout history. To be consistent, stadiums are listed with their most current/recognizable names.


FB: Number of major pro football league championships. Counts league championships from 1920-1965, and Super Bowl titles from 1966-2011. FB Team:The major pro football team that won the league championships.

BB: Number of World Series titles. BB Team: The Major League Baseball team that won the World Series titles.

Total Champs: The sum of FB and BB championships.

Years: Number of years the stadium was the home stadium of a NFL and MLB team(s).

Columns can be sorted by clicking on the titles in the header.

StadiumLocationFBFB TeamBBBB TeamTotal ChampsYears
Yankee Stadium INew York, NY1Giants10Yankees1125
Cleveland MunicipalCleveland, OH8Browns1Indians949
Wrigley FieldChicago, IL8Bears0-851
Baltimore MemorialBaltimore, MD3Colts3Orioles630
Polo GroundsNew York, NY3Giants3Giants634
Three Rivers StadiumPittsburgh, PA4Steelers2Pirates630
Candlestick ParkSan Francisco, CA549ers0-530 ColiseumOakland, CA2Raiders3Athletics532
Tiger StadiumDetroit, MI3Lions2Tigers540
Riverfront StadiumCincinnati, OH0-3Reds330
Busch MemorialSt. Louis, MO0-2Cardinals223
Comiskey ParkChicago, IL2Cardinals0-225
Griffith StadiumWashington, DC2Redskins0-225
League ParkCleveland, OH1Rams1Indians27
MetrodomeMinneapolis, MN0-2Twins228
Shea StadiumNew York, NY1Jets1Mets220
Shibe ParkPhiladelphia, PA2Eagles0-218
Sportsman's ParkSt. Louis, MO0-2Cardinals28
Sun Life StadiumMiami Gardens, FL0-2Marlins219
Forbes FieldPittsburgh, PA0-1Pirates128
Kansas City MunicipalKansas City, MO1Chiefs0-18
L.A. ColiseumLos Angeles, CA0-1Dodgers14
Veterans StadiumPhiladelphia, PA0-1Phillies132
Anaheim StadiumAnaheim, CA0-0-015
AstrodomeHouston, TX0-0-029
Baker BowlPhiladelphia, PA0-0-04
Braves FieldBoston, MA0-0-02
Crosley FieldCincinnati, OH0-0-02
Ebbets FieldNew York, NY0-0-019
Fenway ParkBoston, MA0-0-015
Fulton Co. StadiumAtlanta, GA0-0-026
KingdomeSeattle, WA0-0-022
Metropolitan StadiumBloomington, MN0-0-021
Mile High StadiumDenver, CO0-0-02
Milwaukee Co. Stadium ¹Milwaukee, WI0-0-01
Qualcomm StadiumSan Diego, CA0-0-035
RFK StadiumWashington, DC0-0-010

¹ Due to cancelled games from the NFL strike in 1982, the Green Bay Packers played the majority of their home games at Milwaukee County Stadium.


In 1979, Three Rivers Stadium was the home to both the NFL and MLB champion. The Pittsburgh Steelers won the Super Bowl, and the Pittsburgh Pirates won the World Series. It’s the last time a stadium was the home to both the NFL and MLB champion in the same season.

Home Stadium to the Football and Baseball World Champions in the Same Season

YearStadiumPro Football ChampionMajor League Baseball Champion
1948Cleveland MunicipalCleveland Browns (AAFC)Cleveland Indians
1956Yankee Stadium INew York GiantsNew York Yankees
1970Baltimore MemorialBaltimore ColtsBaltimore Orioles
1979Three Rivers StadiumPittsburgh SteelersPittsburgh Pirates


Additional Info

  • For 35 years, Qualcomm/Jack Murphy Stadium was the home to the NFL’s San Diego Chargers and MLB’s San Diego Padres. Neither of those teams won world championships. It’s the longest a dual-purpose stadium has gone without seeing either of its home teams win championships. Followed by the Astrodome (29 years), and Fulton County Stadium (26 years).
  • From 1920-1970, the Chicago Cubs shared Wrigley Field with three different NFL teams; Chicago Bears (1921-1970), Chicago Cardinals (1931-1939), and the Chicago Tigers (1920). Within that period of time, the Bears won eight world championships, and the Cubs didn’t win any. It’s the most titles a dual-purpose stadium was the home to, without one of them coming from baseball.
  • From 1970-1999, the Cincinnati Bengals shared Riverfront Stadium with the Cincinnati Reds. Within that period of time, the Reds won three world championships, and the Bengals didn’t win any. It’s the most titles a dual-purpose stadium was the home to, without one of them coming from football.


Sources: The Pro Football ArchivesBaseball-Reference.comArizona Cardinals Media GuideSt. Louis Rams Media GuideOfficial Detroit Tigers WebsiteChicago Tribune (4/21/1941 ProQuest ID 176312281)

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.